Paved rear patio with wonderful sea views | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Lovely holiday cottage | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Beautifully renovated interior | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Cosy living area | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Stylish open plan living space | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Luxurious living with modern touches | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Convenient dining area | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Spacious dining area | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Fully appointed fitted kitchen | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Relaxing double bedroom | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Peaceful double bedroom | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Light and airy shower room | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Patio area with a range of outdoor seating options | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Enclosed patio area | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Rear façade viewed from the lower garden area | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea Picturesque views over the estuary | Mulberry Cottage, Leigh-on-Sea

English Country Cottages is part of the cottages.com family

English Country Cottages offers the finest collection of holiday cottages, all chosen for their character, luxury and heritage. This collection is one of many within the cottages.com family and features cottages graded 4 stars and above, all curated by our accommodation experts.
If you can’t find what you are looking for at English Country Cottages, click here to visit Cottages.com and browse over 19,000 properties from all of our collections, all of which are inspected and graded to ensure you find the perfect cottage.

  • 1 Bathrooms
  • 1 Bedrooms
  • Sleeps 2
  • 0 Pets
  • Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 mile
  • WiFi
  • Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
  • Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
Show features
Prices are per property not per person includes a £30.00 booking fee.
Selected start date
Available start days
Duration days
Unavailable days

2 nights - mostly start on Fri or Sat
3 nights - must start on Fri

4 nights - must start on Mon
5 nights - 22nd or 29th Dec 2012 only.

Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 268 0785.

The best of both worlds; a coastal house in a quiet location yet only 45 minutes from London, and only a short walk from the beach.

The best of both worlds; a coastal house in a quiet location yet only 45 minutes from London, and only a short walk from the beach.

From its enviable elevated position in Leigh on-Sea overlooking the estuary Mulberry Cottage is ideal for those looking for a world away from the hustle and bustle, yet it is only 45 minutes from London on the train. Beautifully renovated throughout, guests staying at this terraced holiday home can enjoy luxurious living and modern touches with a traditional feel. Mulberry Cottage is close to the town of Leigh-on-Sea, with cobbled streets, traditional pubs, museums and restaurants serving fresh, local seafood. A man-made beach is close by, ideal for summer lazy days and bracing winter walks when the nights draw in. Southend-on-Sea is easily accessible, via a long walk or train, and offers a more lively experience with shopping, dining and the famous pier! Beach ½ mile. Shop ½ mile, pub and restaurant 500 yards.

Ground Floor:
Living room:
With 55" Freeview Smart TV and wooden floor.
Dining room: With wooden floor.
Kitchen: With electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine and tiled floor.
First Floor:
Bedroom
: With kingsize bed.
Shower room: With shower cubicle, toilet, heated towel rail and bluetooth speaker.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Welcome pack. Enclosed lawned garden with patio and garden furniture. Private parking for 1 car; additional on road parking. No smoking. Please note: The property is accessed via a narrow drive. There are 16 steps and a slope in the garden.

Read property description
image/svg+xml

What do our customers say?

  • 2

    Alice

    Posted by anonymous

    The house was lovely inside. Well kept and clean. Newly decorated. Not alot to do in the local area. No seafront or seaside apart from 2 arcades. Everywhere nearby was shut by about 7pm. The parking for the property was awful. The lane is tiny and i could not get my car into the car park so only go if you have a small car. We booked for 4 nights but left after 1 night as there was nowhere to park and nothing to do. Owner not very helpful.

    Confirmed guest, 14/09/2018 15/09/2018

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your helpful feedback. We are sorry that you left because there was 'nowhere to park' and 'nothing to do'. I can't help but wonder if a glance at the map made you think that as Leigh and Southend are only 3 miles apart that they are one and the same, and perhaps thought you were getting Leigh's bigger, brasher brother - who is only 15 minutes by car or 3 short train stops away? The lane to the cottage can be challenging at first glance, and as a nervous driver myself I sometimes wonder how my neighbours get their quite big vehicles up and down daily. The parking in Hadleigh Road is free and there is a car park on the front in the unlikely event of no parking outside the cottage. A short walk across one of the several railway bridges brings you into Old Leigh, where there is a museum, a gallery, several pubs and restaurants, a tearoom and a fish and chip shop. An equal distance inland is The Broadway where there are many independent shops, tons of restaurants and coffee bars. There is also a very useful branch of 'Cook', if you want to eat at home but not actually do the cooking. Walking along the estuary path in one direction brings you to Two Tree Island and Hadleigh Castle. Towards Southend along the coast brings you to Chalkwell and Westcliffe, and eventually into Southend itself. Also walkable are a golf range and a yoga studio. Of course, if you come away for a break from walking at all, there are two big flat-screen TV's in the house, one up and one down (so no arguing about which programme to watch). We have unlimited Wi-Fi, and Freesat, plus Netflix. There is a microwave so you can even have hot popcorn while you watch. As the Agency put it in the description on their website ‘ideal for those looking for a world away from the hustle and bustle’.
  • 2

    Alice

    Posted by anonymous

    The house was lovely inside. Well kept and clean. Newly decorated. Not alot to do in the local area. No seafront or seaside apart from 2 arcades. Everywhere nearby was shut by about 7pm. The parking for the property was awful. The lane is tiny and i could not get my car into the car park so only go if you have a small car. We booked for 4 nights but left after 1 night as there was nowhere to park and nothing to do. Owner not very helpful.

    Confirmed guest, 14/09/2018 15/09/2018

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your helpful feedback. We are sorry that you left because there was 'nowhere to park' and 'nothing to do'. I can't help but wonder if a glance at the map made you think that as Leigh and Southend are only 3 miles apart that they are one and the same, and perhaps thought you were getting Leigh's bigger, brasher brother - who is only 15 minutes by car or 3 short train stops away? The lane to the cottage can be challenging at first glance, and as a nervous driver myself I sometimes wonder how my neighbours get their quite big vehicles up and down daily. The parking in Hadleigh Road is free and there is a car park on the front in the unlikely event of no parking outside the cottage. A short walk across one of the several railway bridges brings you into Old Leigh, where there is a museum, a gallery, several pubs and restaurants, a tearoom and a fish and chip shop. An equal distance inland is The Broadway where there are many independent shops, tons of restaurants and coffee bars. There is also a very useful branch of 'Cook', if you want to eat at home but not actually do the cooking. Walking along the estuary path in one direction brings you to Two Tree Island and Hadleigh Castle. Towards Southend along the coast brings you to Chalkwell and Westcliffe, and eventually into Southend itself. Also walkable are a golf range and a yoga studio. Of course, if you come away for a break from walking at all, there are two big flat-screen TV's in the house, one up and one down (so no arguing about which programme to watch). We have unlimited Wi-Fi, and Freesat, plus Netflix. There is a microwave so you can even have hot popcorn while you watch. As the Agency put it in the description on their website ‘ideal for those looking for a world away from the hustle and bustle’.
8.2 out of 10 – based on 5 reviews collected by ReeVoo