Exterior | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Living room | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Living room | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Living room | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Kitchen | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Double bedroom | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Double bedroom | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Children’s play area | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Twin bedroom | Orford Mill - Mere Brook, Great Torrington Children’s play area | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Swimming pool | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Games room | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Tennis court | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Badgers | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington River Torridge | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Heidi’s Hideaway | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Heidi’s Hideaway | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington Heidi’s Hideaway | Orford Mill - Henry Williamson, Great Torrington
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • Sleeps 4
  • 0 Pets
  • Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
  • Games Room
  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
  • Romantic Getaways
  • Rural Location
  • Stairgate
  • Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
  • Baby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot Available
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Pets – not allowed
  • All En-suite
  • Parking - On Site
  • Shared Sauna
Show features
Prices are per property not per person includes a £30.00 booking fee.
Selected start date
Available start days
Duration days
Unavailable days

2 nights - mostly start on Fri or Sat
3 nights - must start on Fri

4 nights - must start on Mon
5 nights - 22nd or 29th Dec 2012 only.

Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 268 0785.

No matter the weather, this property is the ideal choice with a swimming pool and tennis court onsite and many attractions nearby, including 2 theme parks.

No matter the weather, this property is the ideal choice with a swimming pool and tennis court onsite and many attractions nearby, including 2 theme parks.

Orford Mill lies alongside the River Torridge in a beautiful wooded valley, nestled below the historic town of Torrington. With its air of peace and tranquillity, abundant wildflowers and river life, it became the setting for Henry Williamson’s magical story of Tarka the Otter. Indeed, the mill wheel in which Tarka hid from the hound Deadlock was at Orford Mill. This superb location makes a wonderful holiday base, especially for families, with sandy beaches on the North Devon coast only 10 miles away.

The complex consists of a Grade II listed water mill and manor house, now converted into nine delightful cottages, all equipped to Visit Britain ‘4 Star’ standard. Most overlook the charming ornamental courtyard with its ponds and flowerbeds. Riverside is detached and overlooks the river. All cottages retain character features such as exposed beams and stonework, and each is furnished in an individual style to a very high standard. Guests can enjoy an indoor heated swimming pool, with lovely river views, as well as a spa room and all-weather tennis court, games room and fenced outdoor children’s play area. In addition, fishing rights are available on 200 yards of river (bring own licence, or avail locally at cost). All the waterways are safely fenced.
The countryside around Orford Mill is dotted with sleepy villages nestled among the hills, while extensive woodlands, traversed by many footpaths, offer the chance to experience the area’s natural beauty at close quarters. Adjacent to the grounds are the renowned RHS gardens at Rosemoor, and other local attractions include Dartington Crystal, offering a factory tour and visitor centre. Great Torrington is only a mile away with good shopping and amenities, and there is golf at nearby Hartland. Orford Mill adjoins Torrington Common which extends to 365 acres, incorporating 20 miles of footpaths. The common is a haven for wildlife. The ‘Big Sheep’ and ‘Milky Way’ theme parks are each less than 10 miles away.

The River Torridge runs downstream to the ancient port of Bideford, still with a working quay offering boat trips out to Lundy Island. Just around the corner is the attractive little town of Appledore with its colourful houses and narrow streets. To either side lies Devon’s most spectacular stretch of coastal scenery – a chain of magnificent cliffs and rocky promontories, interspersed here and there by long flat sandy beaches, where the Atlantic breakers roll in to create ideal surfing conditions. There are splendid beaches at Instow and Westward Ho!, the latter bordered by the Royal North Devon Golf Club, and the Northam Nature Reserve. Further west is the supremely picturesque Clovelly, whose narrow, cobbled main street descends at a dizzying gradient to the little harbour below. To the south, the cathedral city of Exeter can be reached via a delightful drive through lush river valleys.

Orford Mill offers very attractive accommodation set in 3 acres of beautiful gardens with streams, waterfalls and the water wheel which is still operational. Excellent as a touring base, it makes a good choice for a holiday whatever the weather. Shop ½ mile.

A two storey cottage with an enclosed sun terrace overlooking the mill wheel and leat. Beamed living room/dining room with electric woodburner. Well-equipped, modern fitted kitchen. First floor: Two beamed bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet; one double with TV and one twin with TV.

  • Electric woodburner’ included
  • DVD
  • Terrace and furniture

  • Electricity, full oil central heating (controlled by owner), bed linen, towels ad Wi-Fi included
  • Cot, travel cot and high chair by arrangement
  • TV with digital terrestrial channels
  • Stereo/CD
  • Microwave
  • Washer/dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Shared grounds with sitting-out area and furniture
  • Gas barbecues for hire by arrangement
  • Ample parking
  • Shared games room with pool table, games machines
  • Shared outside area with table tennis
  • Shared indoor heated swimming pool (12ft x 33ft) with changing and shower facilities
  • Shared fitness room with treadmill, exercise bike, weights bench, dry infra-red sauna and wet steam sauna, with shower and toilet facilities (no children)
  • Massage and beauty treatments by arrangement
  • Shared hard all weather tennis court (bring own equipment, and tennis shoes – no trainers)
  • On-site river fishing (bring own licence, or available locally at cost)
  • Children’s play area with swings and playhouse
  • Heidi’s Hideaway (playroom for toddlers and young children)
  • No smoking
  • NB: Securely fenced river on-site

Read property description
image/svg+xml

What do our customers say?

  • 6

    Sandy

    Posted by anonymous

    Although Mere Brook cottage was clean and comfortable, we were rather disappointed on arrival at being told by the owner not to wear shoes indoors. We were spoken to like children as that was something we didn't need to be reminded of. Stepping over a stairgate every time we went upstairs wasn't much fun either. It was disappointing to be able to hear the constant hum of the heating boilers and also the outside area by our property needed attention. For example two old electrical appliances were just left lying around, one which we could see from our window. There were other things which also needed clearing and the rubbish bin smelt, as had lots of food waste at the bottom. Our main concern with this property was the heating, it came on, on the last evening and the property was so hot. We tried to turn down the thermostats on the radiators, but they were all old and broken. Two of the radiators became so hot it was dangerous, i would not like to take small children into this property. I did tell the owner when we left about the valves on the rads and how hot they were, I think this property need inspecting again to make sure this job has been done.

    Confirmed guest, 26/09/2020 28/09/2020

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are sorry that you were disappointed by our request to remove outdoor shoes inside the cottage. We are puzzled by your reference to the hum from the central heating boiler, as the boiler is situated in a separate building away from the cottages and we have never had a complaint about it in 20 years. By your own admission, the heating was only on for 1 evening during your stay and went off at 11 pm so we’re really not sure what you mean by constant hum. The central heating had not been needed throughout the summer, but when, on your last night, a guest in another cottage asked for the central heating to be turned on, we thought it would be helpful to turn it on in all the cottages as it was a chilly evening. We’re sorry you found it too hot. Just contact us and we would have turned it off, we live on site and you had also been given 2 phone numbers to contact us with and an email address. The radiator thermostats are not old or broken, they were just stiff not having been used since the beginning of the year. The refuse and recycling bins which are situated in the car park, well away from all the cottages are emptied once a week by an outside firm who are also responsible for cleaning and servicing them. We have passed on your comments to them. The single old appliance which could just be seen from one corner of your bedroom window was a dishwasher which we had replaced in another cottage during the week of your stay and which was awaiting collection to be disposed of. Things break down occasionally, need replacing and need disposing of not all of which can be done immediately. For the benefit of anyone reading your comment about the stairgate, the stairgate is hinged, and can be opened and walked through. There is no question of anyone having to climb over it. It can also be easily removed if necessary. All of these issues you have raised could have been dealt with easily if you contacted us while on holiday, instead of when you were handing in your keys on your way home. Many thanks.
  • 7

    Stephen

    Posted by anonymous

    We spent a very comfortable and pleasant week staying in Mere Brook cottage.

    Confirmed guest, 19/09/2020 21/09/2020
  • 7

    Laura

    Posted by anonymous

    A good location in heart of Tarka Country and to Rosemoor RHS. Good facilities for young families including pool. Accommodated our need to house a tandem securely. Good WiFi. We enjoyed having the 2nd living room with large window and small private courtyard with table for the evening sunshine. As it is on the river cycling requires going up hills! Enjoyed Tarka trail but families would recommend driving the Puffing Billy.

    Confirmed guest, 11/09/2020 15/09/2020
6.7 out of 10 – based on 3 reviews collected by ReeVoo