Impressive, detached, luxurious house | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Luxurious private, outdoor heated swimming pool | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Spacious living room with bay window | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Relax with a glass of wine | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Elegant dining room | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Sun room opening to patio and pool area | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Well equipped kitchen with Aga and breakfast area | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Large entrance hall with bar area | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Comfortable double bedroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Charming double bedroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Spacious en-suite double bedroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Cosy double bedroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Comfortable double bedroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Spacious en-suite double bedroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Comfy twin bedroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Bathroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Bathroom | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Pretty gardens surround the property | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Ideal for al-fresco dining | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Outdoor tennis court | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude 1-acre lawned gardens | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Children’s play area | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Exterior on approach | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude Surrounded by beautiful countryside | Ratherton House, Holsworthy, near Bude
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 7 Bedrooms
  • Sleeps 12
  • 0 Pets
  • Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
  • Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
  • Highchair
  • Rural Location
  • WiFi
  • Cot Available
  • Luxury Collection
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing Machine
  • Working Farm
  • Pets – not allowed
  • Parking - On Site
  • Children's Play Area
  • Shower Cubicle
  • Celebration Houses
Show features
Prices are per property not per person includes a £30.00 booking fee.
Selected start date
Available start days
Duration days
Unavailable days

2 nights - mostly start on Fri or Sat
3 nights - must start on Fri

4 nights - must start on Mon
5 nights - 22nd or 29th Dec 2012 only.

Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 268 0785.

This large property can accommodate up to 12 guests and features a private, outdoor swimming pool.

This large property can accommodate up to 12 guests and features a private, outdoor swimming pool.

A grand house located just 10 minutes away from the Cornish coast but is surrounded by Devon countryside. There’s a wealth of attractions close by but with such a wonderful property as your home for the duration of your holiday you may find you have everything you need right here, and there is even Wi-Fi available. Ratherton House has been beautifully refurbished in a contemporary style. It’s very spacious and there’s plenty of room to accommodate all 14 guests. High ceilings and a fresh décor create wonderfully light and inviting rooms. If you’re planning to entertain during your stay then the formal dining room is the icing on the cake. The sun room opens onto the patio and spacious garden complete with outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts and children’s play area. The children can run around to their hearts content while you have a good natter with your loved ones. The surrounding area has plenty to offer too with Tamar Lakes nearby providing a lovely setting for a family day out. Just 10 miles away are the golden sands of Widemouth Bay and Bude for some good old-fashioned paddling and sandcastle building competitions. This picturesque part of Devon will have you returning year after year creating fabulous memories to treasure for a lifetime.

Step to entrance. Large entrance hall with bar area and oak floor. Spacious living room with bay window overlooking swimming pool and garden. Large dining room. Spacious kitchen with Aga, breakfast area, granite worktops and slate floor. Snug opening to patio and pool area. Sun room opening to patio and pool area. Double bedroom with kingsize bed, TV, Blu-ray player and en-suite bathroom with over-bath shower, toilet and heated towel rail. Double bedroom. Shower room with double shower cubicle, toilet and heated towel rail. First floor: Double bedroom with super kingsize bed (zip and link, can be twin), TV, Blu-ray player and en-suite bathroom with over-bath shower, toilet and heated towel rail. Double bedroom with super kingsize bed, TV, Blu-ray player and en-suite bathroom with over-bath shower, toilet and heated towel rail. Double bedroom with kingsize bed, TV, Blu-ray player, shower room with double shower cubicle, toilet and heated towel rail. Double bedroom with cast iron bed. Twin bedroom (for flexible sleeping arrangements). Bathroom with bath, shower attachment, double shower cubicle, toilet, twin basins and heated towel rail.

  • Electricity, full oil central heating, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included
  • Travel cot and high chair on request
  • 5 Freeview TVs (one 50")
  • 4 Blu-ray players
  • DVD
  • Oil-fired Aga included
  • Microwave
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • American style fridge/freezer
  • 1-acre lawned gardens with patio, terrace, sitting-out area and furniture
  • Ample parking
  • Private, outdoor swimming pool (heated May-September, heating available on request October-April, at cost)
  • Tennis court (equipment provided)
  • Children’s play area
  • Welcome pack
  • No smoking
  • Couples and family bookings only
  • Please note: 5 steps in garden. This property has a security deposit of £250.

Read property description
image/svg+xml

What do our customers say?

  • 6

    Sharon

    Posted by anonymous

    This house is great for large groups, plenty of space and bedrooms for everyone, it is quite tired in terms of decor and furnishings and could do with an update. The drive up to it is awful however, small road full of deep potholes and ruts. Also considering we couldn’t book in until 6pm due to extra (Covid) cleaning we were appalled at how dirty it was, thick cobwebs everywhere and dead flies all over the conservatory floor. It most definitely hadn’t been given a thorough cleaning. Great pool outside which we all enjoyed and plenty of grounds for children to play in.

    Confirmed guest, 21/08/2020 02/09/2020

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry if this was not up to our usual and expected standards (please see the previous extremely and consistent high scores). We pride ourselves on presenting Ratherton House to a very high standard and have not received any negative comments regarding it's cleanliness. We do apologise if there were any dead flies in the sunroom which was thoroughly cleaned prior to your arrival. At no point during or after your stay did you contact our housekeeping team or us to inform us of your concerns. Had you contacted us or them we would have addressed your concerns immediately. However before and after each and every stay at the house a team of cleaners thoroughly clean the house, and it is always checked by a supervisor before each client check in. Regarding the lane that approaches the house, again due to the very rural location there can be uneven surfaces. Due to exceptionally wet weather in the spring/early summer there were some 'ruts' but due to Covid restrictions we would not be able to resurface without cancelling any bookings. Check in was delayed until 6pm so the house could be fully sanitised between stays in line with current government guidelines and on the advice of English Country Cottages.
8.0 out of 10 – based on 2 reviews collected by ReeVoo